Coastal Electric Cooperative - Home

Six local high school students tapped for Washington Youth Tour



Coastal Electric Cooperative has just announced the names of six local student delegates they will send on a week-long all-expenses paid leadership trip to Washington, D.C., leaving June 9th. The announcement was made Thursday evening at a dinner for the students and their parents at the Co-op’s office in Midway.

The winners are Nicholas Hahn, son of James and Cheryl Ooms; and Shannon Scarboro, daughter of Forester and Cyndi Scarboro. Both attend Richmond Hill High school. Isiah Dickey, son of Derrick Dickey and Vanessa Martinez; John Killough, son of William and Holly Killough. Both attend First Presbyterian Christian Academy. Barry Bowens, son of Barry and Darlene Bowens; and Maya Campbell, daughter of Michael and Finiece Campbell. Both attend McIntosh County Academy.

The trip brings together more than 1,600 highly talented, ambitious young people from across the country for an incredible week in the nation’s capital to further develop their leadership skills and ambitions.

The Washington Youth Tour is sponsored nationally by the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association and statewide by Georgia Electric Membership Corporation.

As Georgia’s oldest leadership program for teens, the Washington Youth Tour teaches high school students about U.S. history, government and the importance of public service. The tour was inspired by former president Lyndon Johnson who, in 1957, encouraged electric cooperatives to send youngsters to the nation’s capital where they can actually see their government in action.

The competition process began in January when high school principals from the schools in the Coastal Electric service areas are asked to encourage students from their school to compete for a spot on the trip. Applicants who apply online should have excelled in academics, extra-curricular activities, community involvement and leadership abilities. Once the field narrows, a panel of judges interviews the finalists.

The six winners earn the top scores after the interviewing process. The competition is designed to reward well-rounded  juniors with leadership potential or experience in their schools and communities.

Before the Georgia delegates take to the sky enroute to DC, they spend a day in Atlanta. The first activity is a Statewide Dinner/Reception highlighting the achievements of the 100+ participating high school students from across the state who earned the trip to the nation’s capital. Before joining their peers from across the country in Washington, D.C., they participate in team building and ice-breaker activities, as well as learn more about leadership, cooperatives and how rural electrification began.

“This is a leadership trip of a lifetime for these young people,” says Whit Hollowell, Coastal Electric CEO. “The Washington Youth Tour is an opportunity for exceptional students to have a jam-packed backstage pass to our nation’s capital, to personally meet with members of Georgia’s congressional delegation and cement their leadership skills and ambitions. Delegates will visit many historical sites while experiencing the high energy atmosphere in our nation’s capital.”

Since 1964, the Washington Youth Tour has given more than 50,000 students representing 640 of America’s electric cooperatives the opportunity to take part in this once-in-a-lifetime experience.

Each student will also be awarded a $1,000 scholarship from the Coastal Electric Cooperative Foundation. The Foundation’s support comes from the Members of Coastal Electric Cooperative who make voluntary contributions on their electric bills through Operation RoundUp. Electric bills are rounded up each month to the next whole dollar. The average contribution is $6.00 per year but this small change helps to change the lives of many young people.

High resolutions images available for download here:

(From left) Nicholas Hahn, Richmond Hill High School; Shannon Scarboro, Richmond Hill High School; Maya Campbell, McIntosh County Academy; Barry Bowens, McIntosh County Academy; Isiah Dickey. First Presbyterian Christmas Academy. (Back row) John Killough, First Presbyterian Christmas Academy